Abercastle, Abercych, Abereiddi, Abermawr, Ambleston, Amroth, Angle & Bangeston.
Back to Gazetteer
Boat and shipbuilding was carried on.
Suspected by Elizabeth I of piracy and smuggling. Probably quite rightly. Visited by the Commissioners to suppress Piracy in 1566, described by them as a small safe harbour. Thriving trade in 18th and 19C exporting to England, Ireland and the Continent.
The island has signs of very early occupation. Near by is Longhouse farm on which Carreg Samson is located, a set of New Stone age cromlechau from approximately 3000 BC.
The Pembrokeshire Coast National Park by Dillwyn Miles.
Abercastle: A coastal hamlet, at the end of a drowned valley from which schooners sailed carrying corn and other farm produce to the West Country and returned laden with merchandise that was sold at the local shop, aptly called "Bristol Trader". Limestone brought from south Pembrokeshire was used to build a water mill, storehouses and a tavern, and to burn in limekilns, one of which survives, before being spread on the land.
Ynys y Castell may have been an early Christian site. Upon it is Bedd Bys Samson, "the grave of Samson's finger", the finger with which he lifted the capstone on to the upright pillars of Carreg Samson, the chambered tomb at Longhouse farm above the bay. The tomb is an outstanding example of a passage grave built by Neolithic people moving along this coast from about 2500BC.
A quiet little bay with a sandy beach, good for bathing.
Back to A Back to Gazetteer
(See also the topic of Craftsmen of Wales - Woodturning).
Back to A Back to Gazetteer
On north coast of St David's Peninsula. Old slate quarrying industry old workings flooded to create "Blue Pool" by the fishermen after the quarrymen left. The remains of the quarrymen's houses can still be seen. Mineral narrow gauge railway line used to run to Porthgain.
18C Beacon on the headland to guide ships into the Harbour, lime kiln which was still in use in the 1930's, at one end of beach Ty Powdwr (Gunpowder store) at the other.
A row of cottages, now
much ruined, were the homes of industrious quarrymen who quarried slates that
were taken by tramroad to Porth-Gain on the other side of the headland known as
Back to A Back to Gazetteer
The remains of trees
which are visible at low tide are part of a sunken forest, the lost land of
Was once to be the terminal for Isombard Kingdom Brunel's railway which was abandoned, traces of pier abutments and the bed of a railway may be still seen.
The First Cables were laid
in 1862 by the Cable Ship Berwick. It was over 60 miles long and ran from
Abermawr to Wexford. A second cable was laid in 1880 from Abermawr to Blackwater
Back to A Back to Gazetteer
According to Royal Commission on Ancient Monuments in
According to Royal Commission on Ancient Monuments in Wales.
Cromlechau at Parc y llyn: About 300 yards SW of the farmhouse of Parc y llyn and 800 yards SSE of a spot in the adjoining parish of St. Dogwells where another cromlech is known to have stood are the remains of at least one and probably two cromlechs. A capstone 7 foot by 5 foot, appears to rest upon two supports; these are partly covered by accumulated soil, but show a height of at least 2 ft. The capstone is aligned NE-SW.
In the hedge to the east and largely concealed by it, is what may have been the capstone of another cromlech, but failing examination with a spade it is impossible to say more about it. Both remain standing upon a slightly elevated platform of 180 ft. circumference - Visited 13th Oct. 1914.
Earthworks at Castell Fleming - "Ad Vigesimum"
This enclosure measuring 303 foot from E to W by 294 foot from N to S, occupies commanding ground 500 foot above sea level which slopes slightly to the south. The lines of the northern and southern banks are fairly traceable as is also the southern half of the western bank but the other half and most of the eastern side have disappeared. At no point does the bank rise above one foot. There are no indications of an outer ditch or trench. The enclosure, about two acres in extent, is traversed by a main road which divides it into two practically equal parts. The site has long been under cultivation, with the exception of a triangular plot immediately south of the road in the SE quarter.
The superficial resemblance of the plan to that of a Roman station led Fenton and Hoare to identify it with the Ad Vigesimum of the "Itinerary" of Richard of Cirencester not at that time known to be a forgery. Fenton saw Roman brick and cement and heard of "a large flag that had been found near with some inscription on it perhaps a milliary" A writer in Arch. Camb. 1879 p 318 says that the "encampment" was then "full of Roman brick".
Some trial trenches dug by Professor R C Bosanquet and Dr. R E M Wheeler in Dec. 1922 showed that the earth rampart and ditch were of Roman type and had enclosed at least one building of timber with slate roof and clay floor. These remains were exposed in the triangular plot mentioned above which had been preserved from the plough by piles of stone removed from adjoining ground and was covered with dense growth of bracken. Several pieces of flue tiles and bricks such as were used in hypocausts were found above the surface of a clay floor 2 1/2 inches thick. The part that was laid bare showed remains of two raised clay hearths and a posthole about 3 inches in diameter. The floor rested on a bedding of cobbles, and below this was an earlier occupation layer partly floored with clay resting on some 7 inches of fine gravel. A number of hexagonal roofing slates of characteristic Roman type were found on the upper clay floor and some fragments occurred in and below it. The minor finds included two bones and iron nail a fragment of glass and a dozen pieces of pottery of which five were "Samian". The pottery was found below the upper clay floor and points to the early part of the second century AD as the first occupation.
(Fentons Tours i 333; Hoare Giraldus Cambrensis i cxlvi; Lewis Top Dic Wales 1845 i 27; Arch. Camb. 1879 p 318; Haverfield Mil Aspects of Roman Wales 112 (in Trans Hon. Soc. Cymmrodorion 1908-9)
NB. As to the name Castle or Castell Fleming or Flemish it may be suggested that the first word "castle" has been taken from the fortification which has been proved by the excavations of Professor Bosanquet and Dr Wheeler to have been a small Roman settlement. The second word "Flemish" or "Fleming" doubtless has reference to the race or family of the person into whose possession the "castle" may have passed and who may actually have used it as a defensive post in the days when the colony of Flemish introduced into the county by Henry I were obliged to make the position good by strenuous fighting. One of the leaders of the Flemish was a knight called Wiz or Wizo termed the Fleming. His chief residence was at Wizo's tun which soon became altered to Wiston where there is a fine castle mound. From Wiston it is evident that Wiz ruled directly or exercised suzerainty over a wide extent of country comprising much of the cantrefs of Dougleddau and Rhos. He was a patron of the Knights Hospitallers of St. John and it said by some authorities to have founded the house of that order at Slebech. It is certain that he or his son Walter endowed the knights with the tithes of several parishes one of them being Ambleston.
Wallis Rath: This earthwork has a horse shoe appearance but it probably originated as an irregular square with considerably rounded corners. The northern bank has been cleared away The ground is fairly level both within the enclosure and around it. It has a diameter of about 80 ft. and the bank on the south side where it is seen at its best is from 3 to 4 ft. high with an exterior fall of about 5 ft to a shallow ditch. Within the enclosure are slight elevations as of foundations and the site may possibly have been that of a small moated dwelling. Immediately south of the earthwork is a farmhouse named Pen y castell - Visited 13 Oct 1914.
Diocese and Archdeaconry of St David's; Rural deanery of Dungleddy
This Church consists of Nave 42ft x16 1/2ft chancel 30ft x 28ft and western tower 19 1/2ft x18 1/2 ft. In 1906 the nave and chancel were rebuilt on the original foundations none of the earlier features being retained. The tower is of two storeys the lower being vaulted. The stair-turret projects at the north east angle. The tower has a slight batter to within two feet of the ground. The battlements and low spire were repaired in 1779. The entrance to the church is through the tower. At a restoration about 1833 the original font with its circular shaft and square base were sold by public auction but in 1903 it was returned to he church. The bowl has an interior diameter of 18 inches. It is of the Norman type but is entirely unornamented. In the porch is a stone bowl which may have served as a stoup and at another time as a domestic mortar. It has four equidistant projecting lugs or handles.
The church was probably among the Dungleddy
deanery churches granted to the abbey of St. Peter Gloucester by a knight named
Wiz the Fleming about the year 1114 (Hist st Cart Mon S Petri Glous.; Rolls ed i
228, 262-6). A few years later these churches were transferred to the priory of
Reynerston (locally Rinaston) Chapel: This was a small chapel of ease to the parish church which is now disused and become a ruin all that remains are the walls of a small chamber 30ft x 13 1/3 ft. There was a stone vaulted western porch 10ft x 9 1/2 ft probably with a room over. The walls of the building are from 3 to 4 ft high. A burial took place within the church in 1789 a few years before its abandonment. The ruins stand within the yard of Rinaston Farm in the centre of an enclosure 120ft x100ft which is still known as "the graveyard". The walls of this enclosure have been cleared away so that the whole of the burial ground is without shelter or protection and trees grow freely upon and about the ruins. In a charter of 1230 the chapel is described as "capella de Ville Reineri". Visited 13 Oct 1914
The names of these sites suggest an historical origin and where an archaeological discovery may at any time be made.
Chapel#: On a field at Woodstock called Parc Capel are the outlines (about 40ft x 20ft) of the foundations of a small building which may have been an early chapel. So far as the ruins can be aligned the building seems to have stood directly E - W and a slight depression suggests the existence of a north door. The surrounding area is locally called "the Burial Ground" but nothing is known nor does any tradition exist of interments having been met with at any time.
Immediately NE of the site and practically adjoining it is the earthwork known as Woodstock Ring - Visited 13 Oct 1914
Church Meadow: This is the name of a field on the farm of Scollock West about 1 mile SE of the parish church. No tradition explains the name which indeed is not now in use. It may at an earlier time been part of the Glebe. Visited 13 Oct 1914
Scollock Cross: Here the word "cross" merely marks the meeting and crossing of roads. Visited 13 Oct 1914.
The old parish churches of South west Wales Mike Salter.
The low 15C west tower with a vault and spire was repaired in 1779. The 13C nave and chancel were mostly rebuilt in 1906. There is a Norman Font.
Royal Commission on Ancient Monuments (RCAM) 1925
Church rebuilt on original foundations 1906
Reynaston: This tiny 13c chapel in Ambleston Parish was abandoned c1800 and is now a ruin in a farmyard - there seems to have been a room over the vaulted west porch.
Woodstock Chapel nearby was the first Methodist Chapel not to be consecrated by a Bishop.
Ambleston. St. Mary. - Pembrokeshire Parsons.
This benefice is a vicarage, formerly in
the presentation of the prior of the Knights of St. John of Jerusalem, to whom
it was granted by Wizo and Walter his son, and Walter son of Walter, which grant
was afterwards confirmed by Peter de Leia, Bishop of St. Davids, who succeeded
to the see in 1176. Wizo was a Fleming, and built and owned Wiston
Amleston Vicaria:Ecclesia ibidem unde Johannes Yeim s viearius es collacione Preceptoris de Slebeche tenet ibidem vicariam habens terciam pattern fructus et emolimentorum dicte ecclesie que valent comtnunibus annis iinj. Inde solut in visitacione ordinaria quolibet tercio anno viijd. Et remanet dare 7s. 4d. Inde decima 7s. 11d. - Valor Eccl. 1535
Under heading Livings Discharged: Ambleston alias Amleston V. (St. Mary). Ordinario quolibet tertio anno 8d. Habet tere. part. fruct. commun. any The Prince of Wales. Preceptor de Slebeche olim Propr. Clear yearly value #7. #30. King's Books, £3 19s. 4d. - Bacon's Liber Regis.
The grant of Ambleston by Wizo, his son,
and grandson, to the Knights of St. John, mentioned above, comprised all the
churches and chapels in their fee of Dungleddy, and among them were the chapels
of Rinaston and
The chapel of Rinaston was in ruins in 1904; only portions of the main walls then remained, and one of the walls was merely held together by the roots of a good-sized tree which had grown on the masonry. The chapel was a small edifice, and was situated at the northern end of the farmyard of Rinaston Farm; it consisted of a nave and chancel. Within the nave is a tomb with an inscription to the memory of David Morse of Reynaston, who died on 30 July, 1785 aged 67, and his wife Martha, who died on 11 Jan., 1789 aged 64. From this it would appear that the chapel was probably abandoned at the end of the 18th century.
1906 30th June. A faculty was granted for
the restoration of
1408 David Kellan.
1409 Jan. 15. Lewis David vice David Kellan, resigned.
1490 Jun. 15. John Glovers
1534. John David.
1535-6 John Yeims.
1554 Dec. 19. Peter Lyde.
1633 Nov. 16. David Williams.
1675 Dec. 2 David Rice, vice David Williams. deceased.
1716 Aug. 23. Samuel Phillips, vice David Rice, deceased.
1730 Jan. 3. Thomas Phillips, vice Samuel Phillips deceased.
1749 Aug 17. David Morris vice Thomas Phillips deceased
1764 Nov. 19. James Evans, vice David Morris. deceased.
1782 Jul. 31. Morgan Evans, vice James Evans. deceased.
1822 May. 2. David Hughes Saunders, vice Morgan Evans, deceased.
1824 Mar.11. John Pugh vice David Hughes Saunders, deceased.
1866 Feb. 3. Peter Phelps, vice John Pugh, deceased.
1903 May. 23. Thomas Jones, vice Peter Phelps, deceased.
Back to A Back to Gazetteer
A seaside village which suffers much front coastal erosion. It marks the point at which the Landsker reaches Pembrokeshire's south coast
The church, some way inland, was enlarged and rebuilt around 1856.
Colby Lodge, built at the end of the l700's was designed by John Nash and is located in a wooded valley rich with rhododendrons and hydrangeas.
The village was called Earweare or Erewere up to mid 1800's. It has a Church School, vicerage and 2 farms standing on a hill.
The Church - originally Norman was granted to the Knights Hospitallers of Slebech in 1150 but some authorities claim that the original village Church may have been founded by Sir Elider de Stackpole The patron saint is St Elidyr reputed to have owned the wonderful horse Du Y Morvedd -- the black one of the Sea who made a great journey carrying 7 and a half people in its back. It was enlarged and rebuilt in 1856 the nave extended and south transept, vestry and porch added There are 18c monuments in chancel.
The original castle was a motte near the church on a site now called Castle Park -- later a small stone castle was built near the sea. A much restored gateway is all that remains of this castle and on the site a modern house has been built. Castle was once owned by one of the Knights of Arnulf de Montgomery, whose daughter married Cadwgan ap Bleddyn and it is said Owen ap Cadwgan (son of Cadwgan) set forth from Amroth Castle to steal Nesta from Pembroke Castle.
Area once had some colleries and a small iron works it was very rich in anthracite and fossil ferns and club mosses have been found in the coal measures.
Remains of sunken forest drowned about 5000BC can be seen at very low tide, some finds are on display in Tenby museum. The village is constantly threatened by the sea and over the years parts have been washed away.
During the Second World War the area was used for rehearsal of the D-day landings.
Amroth - St Elidyr The nave and chancel are probably of c1200 but the arch between them is Victorian. The nave has a pointed barrel-vault and a western extension of 1855 when a south porch was added. The north transeptal tower and north chapel are of c1500 and there are blocked arches from the chancel and south transept to form south chapel of the same date. There is a Norman font with leaves carved upon it.
RoyalCommission on Ancient Monuments.
Parish of AMROTH. - Amongst the various documents contained in the collection known as The Book of Llan Dav* which were brought together in connection with the claim of Landaff to episcopal jurisdiction over all churches of Teiles foundation, wherever situated are several lists of the churches thus claimed, the lists being unquestionably earlier date than the collection within which thev are preserved. The churches which fall into what may be termed the Teilo area of the later county of Pembroke are thus enumerated (p. 255):
In [the deanery of] Penbro. Lann rath. Lann cronnguern cum tribus territoriis Amrath. Finis illarum o frut gurcant hit glan rath. Tref carn villa tantum sine ecclesia. Laithti Teliau super ripam Ritec, villam tantum juxta Penn Alunn. Menechi ar glann Ritec juxta Pen Alun. Pull arda juxta mainallr Pir, villa tantum. Luin Teliau, villa tantum. Eccluis guiniau ubi natus est sanctus Teliau. Porth medgenl villa tantum. Porth manach mainaur inamithiel. Din guennhaf in Lonion villa tantum.
The first name, Llan rath, when taken with the particulars given in the next entry Amrath and hit glan lath, may be safely regarded as representing the modern Amroth much as by a diametrically opposite linguistic turn the Lonion of the document has become the modern lanions near Pembroke. The rath at Amroth is doubtless the mound, of which only faint traces exist, placed near the church and on ground called in the Tithe Schedule; Castle park"
The territories Amrath are more particularly set forth in the original charter, which is also contained in the Book of Llan Dav. Here Aircol lauhir filio Tryfun rege Demetice grants to St. Teilo the three vills Trefearn Finis o uinyd garthon di blain nant Brat yr guairet hit in Ritec - Ex alia parte o uinyd garthon hit nant y clavorion bet (hit) in Ritec; Laith ty Teliau, o carn baclan di cil meiniauc bet (hit) in Ritec; Menechi, o tref eithinauc di nant hirotguidou bet in Ritec. Ex alia parte o tonou (#) pencenn (pencefn) di blain nant castellt cerran bet (hit) in Ritec.
It will be noticed that the three vills are described in the charter as each extending hit in Ritec, that is as far as (or to) the Ritec; and in the list of churches Laith ty Teilo is said to be super rapam Ritec juxta Pen Alun, whilst Menechi is given as ar glan Ritec juxta Pen Alun. The Ritec is the stream that falls into the sea at Tenby, after a straight easterly course of about six miles from its source in the long ridge of open down extending from directly above Tenbv to Within half a mile of Pembroke. Along the summit of this open land runs a track known as the Ridgelway, the trackway being bordered by many monuments of antiquity. The course of the little stream is on the north side of the upland, but by a sharp bend round the corner of the ridge it reaches the sea a little to the south of the Ridgeway. Traced from its mouth, it is first found to form a boundary between the parishes of Tenby (St. Mary in Liberty) and Penally, next between Gumfreston and Penally, then between Penally and St. Florence, finally disappearing within the last-named parish at a point nearly a mile beyond its parish church.
The first-named of the vills in the district round about (Am)Rath, Tref Cam, would appear to have been situated in the north-eastern corner of the parish of St. Florence, Where on the boundarv line between St. Florence and Gumfreston parishes is an outcrop of rock called Carn Rock and adjacent to it the Tithe Schedule of St Florence locates two Carn Meadows. The trev or township probably extended from the borders of the parish to the Ritec, a distance of a little over a mile.
The name of the second vill is Llaethdy Teilo. Taken literally, this means Teilo's Dairy but seeing that Teilo like his rival David was probably the son of a Welsh chieftain, or, at lowest, of a Welsh free tribesman, and would accordingly be reared by foster-parents, the words may signify the trev of Teilo's fosterage. It is described as being upon the banks of Ritec, where, a few yards directly north of Carswell Farm, is a spot called in the Tithe; Schedule of Gumfreston; "The Palace," which term is possibly intended to represent the Welsh Llys, and to denote a habitation of dignity and repute Furthermore, a short mile to the south of the site just indicated, and on the slopes of the Ridgeway, the Tithe Schedule gives the name "Castle Gwyne" to the field immediately behind the faint remains of the ancient manor house of Trefloyne. Now, the old list of Teilo foundations mentions one of them as Ecclllis gw iau, "where St. Teilo was born." Where is now no trace of either "eglwys" or "castle" but there can be little doubt that we are here in the immediate neighbourhood of Teilo's birthplace and upbringing, and possibly upon the scene of his earliest labours Menechi (Monks town).
The third vill, extended from Tref eithinog (gorse vill) to the streamlet of Nant y Rhodwyddeu, thence to the Ritec; in other directions from Tonou Pencenn (read Pen ceun, the top of the ridge), to (or towards) Nant Castell Cerran, thence to the Ritec. Thus the three trevs had a common boundary in the brook Ritec, and were probably three patrimonies lying on the south or perhaps both sides of the stream, as and, taking Amroth as having been in the Welsh Church period a district of considerable importance and area, it would appear that the first-named of the trevs was situated to the north of the Ritec stream with its dependence on the little seaport of Amroth; Llaethdy Teilo formed the south part with Penally as its natural point of concentration and Tref y Myneich (Monks tun) came between them.
Finally, attention should be drawn to the fact that whatever mav have been the relative importance of the church of Amroth during the Early Welsh peried and we have seen reason to believe that this was beyond question; it makes no appearance in the Taxatio of 1291. Tenby, Gumfreston and Begelly are entered all of them having probably been carved out of the earlier Amroth as a result of the Norse settlement, with (it may be) the addition of Carew; and it is possible that at this time the residue of Amroth as merged in the rising Scandinavian seaport of Tenby. It is also not named in the St. David's Survey of 1326.
Longstone (6 in. Ord. Surv. sheet, Pem. 35 N.E.; lat. 51# 45' ]D", 07 long. 4# 41' 10 ").
This well-known monolith stands in a field to which it has given its name on the farm of King's Park House. It has a height of 6 feet from the ground level, and a breadth at the base of 3 5 feet, declining to about one half at the top, and a depth of 13 inches. There are no traditions connected with the stone. Tithe Schedule, Ns. 380.-Visited, 25th April, 1915.
Amroth Castle (6 in. Ord. Surv. sheet, Pem. 36 s.\5r.; lat. 51# 44 0 long. 4# 39' 20").
On the field called "Castle Park" which adjoins the churchyard of the parish, is a small mound traditionally believed to be the site of Earwere (later Amroth) Castle. At a subsequent period it should appear that the mound gave a place to a small stone castle on a site about 500 yards to the south-east of the mound, of which practically nothing now remains beyond a much-restored gateway that may date from the early 14th century. This dwelling probably developed into a residence "of the castellated style of architecture "(Fenton, Tours); and in the last century this in turn gave way to the present modern dwelling.).Visited, ;19th May, 1915
The Parish Church (6 in. Ord. Surv. sheet, Pem. 85 N.E.) Ded: St. Elidyr.+ ; Diocese and archdeaconry of St. Davids; rural deanery of Narberth. The parish church of Amroth was rebuilt in 1855, according to an inscription on the bell frame, or, more accurately stated, was enlarged, the nave being lengthened by 26 feet. It was also restored in 1899. It now consists of nave (58- feet by 322 feet), chancel (21 feet by 152 feet), north aisle to chancel, known as Amroth Castle Chapel (230 feet by 132 feet), south transept (17 feet by 184 feet), tower on north side (18 feet by 172 feet externally), and south porch.
The ground chamber of the tower, south transept, and the eastern half of the nave have plain vaulting. The pointed chancel arch has replaced the "depressed and rude" arch seen by Sir Stephen Glynne in 1845. All the windows are modern with the exception of that in the ground floor of the tower, which is a two-light with trefoiled heads In the south side of the older portion of the nave is a blocked off doorway having a pointed arch. The tower is of three storeys, the lowest opening to the nave; it has a projecting stair-turret rising to the battlements and is it lighted by slits. The corbel table is massive and prominent.
The font bowl, of the Casual Norman type, 22 inches square, and with slightly sloping sides, is decorated on each face with an unusual motive in relief which may be intended to represent a vine leaf and branch, repeated in reverse. In the south-east corner of the chapel is a plain piscine In the churchyard a fragment of the stern of a tall cross still stands upon its original base. Visited, 19th May, 1915.
Greystone Park (6 in. Ord. Surer. sheet, Pem. 35 N.E.; lat. 51c 44t 22Ns long. 4 41 8).
There is no appearance or tradition of a grey stone on this site, and the field name is probably compounded of Gray's or Grey's-tun. Tithe Schedu1es N#-901.
Church Park (6 in. Ord. Sur sheet, Pem. 35 N.E.;).
Probably in former times a part of the parochial glebe. Tithe Schedule, #- 903. Visited, 23rd April, 191a
The parish of Amroth has as its southern boundary the Bristol Channel, and along a considerable stretch of the shore the sea has been encroaching upon the land for untold ages. At very low tides the remains of a submerged forest are visible. Bones of comparatively recent animals, wild ox and stag and flint objects in various stages of development and stages of workmanship have been found -- They are all of the Neolithic period.
Amroth St.Elidyr - Pembrokeshire Parsons.
This church was granted to the Knights of St. John of Jerusalem about the year 1150, by William Horrizon, by the permission of William de Narberth. the grant included the church of Amtrud [Amroth] with 50 acres of sanctuary land and two carucates of land. - Anselm's Confirm. Charter.
Amteth Vicaria. Vicaria et collatione preceptoris de Slebeche unde Rieus Kikert est vicarius. Et valet gleba hujus vicarie per annum iiijli. Inde sel archidiacono pro sinodalibus et procurationibus quolibet anno sviijd. Et remanet clare 78s. 6d. Inde deeima 7s. gd. - Valor Eccs.
Under heading "Livings Discharged":- Amroth V. (St. Elider or Eliere) Archidiac. quolibet anno 1S. 6d Val. in gleb. &c. Praeceptor Slebech Propr., Richard Fowley, 1741. John Poyer, Esq., 1782. Clear yearly value, #9- King's Books, £3 18s. 6d. - Bacon's Liber Regis.
1899 25th January. A faculty was granted for the restoration of the parish church, and on 8 March, 1902, a faculty was granted for the removal of a cottage belonging to the benefice.
1332 Philip de Crickhowel.
1332- Nicholas Walwayn. 1535/6- Rice Kikert. 1622. Jan. 17. Edward Phillipps.
1690. Nov. 4. Ludovic Goz.
1698. Oct. 4. Howell Williams.
1741. Apr. 18. Thomas Williams vice Howell Williams, deceased.
1782. Oct. 1. Benjamin Twyning, vice Thomas Williams, deceased.
1807. May. 19. John Evans. vice Benjarnin Twyning, deceased.
1825. Feb. 15. William Harries, vice John Evans, deceased.
1847. Sep. 17. Richard Lewis, M.A., vice William Harries, deceased.
1851. May 21 William Davies Phillips, vice Richard Lewis, resigned.
1886. Jul. 16. Thomas David, B.A., vice William Davies Phillips, deceased.
1891 Oct. 2.James Evans Jones, B.A., vice Thomas David instituted to Llanddewi Velfrey.
1905 Oct 16 William Francis Davies B.A. vice James Evans Jones instituted to Llangan Carmarthenshire
A Topographical Dictionary of Wales S Lewis 1849.
AMROATH (AMBROTH, or AMROTH), a parish, in the union and hundred of Narberth, county of Pembroke, South Wales, 7 miles (S. E.) from Narberth; containing 779 inhabitants. This parish is situated on the western shore of Carmarthen bay. It abounds with coal of a peculiarly fine quality, which, burning without smoke or any offensive smell, is much in request for drying malt and hops; for this purpose, considerable quantities are shipped from a place called Wiseman's Bridge, in vessels of fifty or sixty tons burthen, for Bristol, and other places on the banks of the Severn. This part of the bay is celebrated for salmon, cod, and flat-fish, which are taken in abundance, for the supply of the market at Tenby, five miles distant. Iron-ore was obtained in the parish, during the existence of the Penbrey Iron Company; but the operations have been suspended since the stoppage of their works. The living is a discharged vicarage, rated in the King's books at £3. 18. 6d., and endowed with £600 royal bounty and £600 parliamentary grant; net income, £112; patron and impropriator, Charles Poyer Callen, Esq.
The church, dedicated to St. Elidyr, is an ancient structure in the early style of English architecture, with a lofty square embattled tower, and is well fitted up. A school, for the gratuitous instruction of an unlimited number of children of both sexes, was endowed in 1789 by D. Rees, Esq., of the city of London, who gave #20 per annum to the parish, of which #5, according to the will of the testator, are distributed among the most deserving of the poor, and the remainder appropriated to the maintenance of the school, in which are at present about seventy five children. The endowment amounts to £666. 13. 4. three per cent. consols, vested in respectable trustees; the present school-room was erected by the parish, in 1832.
A Sunday school, which is supported by subscription, is attended by about fifty children, nearly all of whom participate in the benefits of the day school.
In the vicinity of Amroath are several elegant seats, of which two are within the parish. Of these, Amroath Castle, originally either the residence of Cadwgan ab Bleddyn, Prince of Powys, or the site of his palace, and subsequently the seat of the family of Elliot, at which period it was called Eare Weare, has been modernised into a marine castellated mansion. It was at this place, according to some writers, that Cadwgan ab Bleddyn gave a sumptuous banquet to the neighbouring chiefs, among whom was Gerald de Windsor, lord of Carew, with his wife Nest, whom the son of Cadwgan afterwards carried off by force from Carew Castle, as is noticed in the account of that place.
Colby Lodge is situated in a highly romantic dell, opening at one extremity towards the sea; it commands a fine sea view, and is enriched in other parts with scenery pleasingly varied, forming a beautiful and sequestered retreat.
 * in the Life of St. Teilo included in the Book of Llan Dav, the saint is said to have been known also as Eliud, and it is certain that all the Pembrokeshire churches dedicated to Elidyr lie within the district covered bv Teilo s activities. It is doubtful whether St. Elidyr ever existed and it is probable that the name is due to a scribe who finished off the form Elid with a nourish which was taken by a later copyist as the ordinary contraction for -er or or. At a still later date he appears in medieval genealogy as Sir Elidore, a knight of the holy sepulchre, and the stock-parent of a long line of Pembrokeshire families.
Back to A Back to Gazetteer
A single street village near sea level at western end of the Castlemartin peninsular
There is evidence of pre Norman strip fields still existing behind each freehold as they have since approx. 800 AD village. Flat topped houses and colonnaded Globe Hotel reflected, it is alleged the participation of Colonel Richard Myerhouse in the South African Wars. The last remains of five old sailing vessels are slowly rotting away on the beach one of which was the schooner Progress reputedly the fastest ship in her day on the cod run to Newfoundland another the 45 two masted ketch Mary Jane the last ship to be built in Jacob's Pill.
First records using the name date from 12 century and it was sometimes recorded as Nangle.
and Monuments according to The Royal Commission on Ancient Monuments (RCAM) .
The Devil's Quoit, or Newton Cromlech: This structure stands on the stretch of sand known as Newton or Broom Burrows; at high tides the sea reaches the stones. One, possibly two, of the supporters has fallen so that the fine capstone, 12 feet in length, is borne one end by a single stone. Fenton (Tour, 405) speaks of the structure as having probably been covered, but there is now no trace of a possible mound. About forty paces to the East is a prostrate monolith which may have had some connection with the cromlech.
Castles Bay or Skomer Neck Camp: (6 in. Ord. Surv. sheet, Pem. 38 SE. lat. 510 40 22 ", long 50 7 0 ).
What must have been an unusually interesting earthwork has in recent years been much disturbed through various causes, military, agricultural and natural. Fortunately it was examined at the end of the 19th century by Lieut. Colonel W. Ll. Morgan, R.E., an ex-Commissioner, who has written of it:
A bank and ditch, 200 feet long from cliff to cliff, cuts off an area of about half an acre from the mainland opposite to Sheep Island. The width from cliff to cliff is afterwards reduced to 100 feet and a deep natural gully, 60 feet wide, cuts off the rest of the promontory, about two acres in extent (defended by steep cliffs) from the first-named area. The smaller area might either have been the bailey of the larger enclosure, or possibly the gully was used as a ditch to protect it from the sea.
Probably the first is the correct solution, as Fenton (Tour, 404), quoting from George Owen's (1602) that the remnant of a tower stood in this further enclosure in the time of Queen Elizabeth, and that the tradition is that this was a place of retreat for the new Norman settlers to save themselves from the natives. The rampart mentioned above is 6 feet high (or rather was, for it has mostly been destroyed by the erection of a War Office building) across the tongue, with 8 feet fall to a ditch 5 feet wide, the ground rising to the front. The entrance is near the east end.
The surface of the larger area or promontory is dotted with depressions, which, in the absence of spade examination, have every appearance of hut circles. Some of these might profitably be excavated.
West Pickard Camp: (This name does not appear on any map or document till the 1842 tithe assessments). (6 in. Ord. Surv. sheet, Pem. 38 SE.; lat. 510 40 0 ", long. 50 5 2).
This promontory camp is situated midway between West and East Pickard Bays. Although much damaged from exposure enough remains to show it to have been of horse-shoe shape, and to have measured 220 feet by 160 feet. To the west the defence is formed by the naturally steep cliffs; to the north and east a bank rises some 8 feet from the enclosed area, falling externally l5 feet to a ditch of an average depth of 3 feet. The entrance was at the south-east angle. Any footpath which may have led down to the sea has disappeared through falls of the cliff.Visited, 8th June, 1922.
Roman finds - Nov. -94 -
At Angle - Roman silver coin (value £12) AD79 on Mirehouse land - understand it was given to Mirehouse.
Note: Finders Grandfather found 6 Roman coins West Angle beach many years ago.
Also 4 hammered coins between Angle and Freshwater West.
Castle: (6 in. Ord. Surv. sheet, Pem. 38 NE.; lat. 510 41 5 ", long. 50 5 l6 ").
Separated at high tide from the church and churchyard are the remains of a moated dwelling which has been frequently termed a "Fortified Rectory" upon part of the ruins a Small house has been built which is called "Castle Farm," (first recorded in 1729) and by this name the site is locally known.
On plan the site gives a square enclosure, protected on its north and west sides by a well-preserved wet moat, on the south by an inlet of the sea, and on the east originally by the third side of the moat, which, however, has been here filled-in to form a road At the south-west corner stands the shell of a tower of the "peel " type l5 feet square, and some 80 feet high. This is the part of the structure which is illustrated and described in Arch. Camb. (1868, ITI, xiv, 77) as a "Fortified Rectory." The north-east angle was protected by another and possibly similar tower, of which the vaulted undercroft still survives in use as a cartshed. The south-west tower is of four stories, the lowest vaulted; all the floors have fallen, as has also the saddle-back roof. The first floor was reached by a flight of forty-seven steps.
The three upper storeys have fireplaces, that in the middle chamber being placed across an angle. In the ground floor chamber is an opening, probably intended provide access to the cellar beneath; in the wall outside are corbels which may have carried a hoisting arrangement; all of which point to smuggling activities at possibly a late date. A prominent feature on the four sides of the exterior is a row of large corbels which possible supported a wooden galleys entered by a doorway still traceable at the head of the stair. The moat is stone-faced and in good preservation, the water being supplied by a small stream.
Immediately adjoining the filled-in side of the moat are the remains of an outbuilding with oven and circular chimney on square base, probably an addition, when about the end of the 17th century an inn called the "Castle Inn" occupied the enclosure. Over the entrance to this ruined dwelling is a stone bearing a human face in high relief. This is known locally as the Gerald stone (Gerald de Barri Giraldus Cambrensis, vicar of Angle c. AD 1200). The stone is probably the terminal of a hood-moulding from an earlier house on the site.
A Jacobean glass bottle found in the moat is preserved in the Museum of Carmarthenshire Antiquarian Society.
In the adjoining field is a fine columbarium, with domed roof and several rows of nest holes.Visited, 8th June, 1922.
East Block-house: On the cliff overlooking Rat Island, about three-quarters of a mile west North Studdock farm-house, are the poor ruins of a Block House which, according to George Owen, was erected temp. Henry VIII.* The term East distinguish it from a somewhat similar building (now destroyed) which was known as the West Block House, in Dale parish. It is described in the Pem. Arch. Survey (p. 88) "24 feet from north to south by 13 feet from east to west. It was divided into two unequal chambers, each lighted by two windows looking east and west. The walls seem originally to have been about 15 feet high, but much has fallen, some recently. There seems to have been an enclosure on the north side, and a second building little distance off to the south-east, which was 22 feet by 9."Since this report the remains have deteriorated considerably. - Visited 8th June 1922
Ruined Almshouse: To the immediate south of houses in the village of Angle, are the remains of a building marked "Castle" on the 6 in. Ordnance survey sheet. Of this once massive structure all now standing are three sides of a square walled enclosure heavily overgrown with ivy. It seems but little changed since the year 1868, when it was described and illustrated in Archaeologia Cambrensis (III, xiv, 76). It appears to have been a building, 90 feet by 13 feet, of two storeys in height. The west side, containing the entrance, has disappeared. The upper floor was lighted by two or three large windows; a fireplace and a cupboard with stone shelf by it side can also be traced. In the absence of clear indications the building may be put down as of late 15th or early 16th century date. Visited, 8th June, 1992
NOTE. The building goes by various names. Fenton (Tour, 402) quotes a letter from Canon Lewis of St. Davids to Browne Willis, dated 12th January, 1719: "There is at Angle yet standing entire, an old square building said to have been a nunnery." Of a nunnery at Angle, however history is silent, nor do the remains point to such an establishment. "The Old Rectory " is another name locally used, in common with that given to the building on the north of the church. Whatever its original purpose, there can be little doubt that it is the building thus alluded to in the MS. Diocese Book of 1715, preserved in the Diocesan Registry, Camarthen - "There is . . . a ruined almshouse at Angle and £30 left by the will of Griffith Dawes, Esq. of Barneston [Bangeston] near 40 years since, but no part thereof is yet paid by his administrators towards the repair thereof."
According to RCAM.
The mere "shell of a mansion" seen by Fenton (Tour, 404} has practically vanished, and in its grounds immediately to the north-east now stands a coast-guard station. The site of what was once the fishpond is easily found. Visited, 8th June 1922.
The earliest record of the Benegers of Bangeston appears to be in 1172, when a branch of the family took part with Strongbow in the Irish Invasion. There is an Irish saying that anything very astounding beats Banagher. Could that have arisen from any feats performed by the Benegers? One Ralph Beneger of Bangeston rebuilt Pwllcrochan Church in 1342. It contains two inscriptions recording his name, and an effigy of him in his canonical habit, as Rector.
Griffith Dawes of Bangeston is the next owner of whom we hear, though how it became his does not appear, possibly by marriage with a Beneger heiress. He was the son of Henry Dawes, by Lettice, daughter of William Walters of Roch (her brother s daughter, the famous Lucy Walters, went to France and there met Charles II., by whom she became the mother of the ill-fated Duke of Monmouth). Henry Dawes was the son of Griffith Dawes, whose widow Joan, daughter of Richard Fletcher, married Henry White of Henllan, near Pwllcrochan (now a ruin), who was Sheriff in 1592. Griffith was the son of Nicholas Dawes, by Katherine Butler of Johnston. Griffith Dawes of Bangeston was Sheriff in 1665. His only daughter and heiress, Ann, married Griffith White, son of Henry White of Henllan, who was Sheriff in 1658. The Whites were a very old Tenby family, and acquired Henllan through Jestina Eynon, daughter and heiress of John Eynon of Henllan, who married John White. One Griffith White of Henllan, three times Sheriff, was buried in Rhoscrowther Church in 1589.
Henry, or Harry Dawes, father of Griffith Dawes of Bangeston, appears, according to Lewis Dwnn, to have lived at Castlemartin. This fits in with the theory that Bangeston came into the family by Griffith s marriage; but it is also possible that Henry lived at Castlemartin during his father's lifetime, if his father was at Bangeston.
On June 16, 1686, Griffith Dawes of Bangeston, or, as it is put, of Banaston in the Parishe of Nangle, Esqre., Thomas Lort, of Eastmoor, Manorbier, and Francis Dawes of Pembroke, gent., with Devereux Hammond, James Lloyd and Francis Smith of Tenbie, gents., as representatives of Alice Bowen of Gloucester spinster bought from Thomas Williams of St. Florence, for £290 10s., the land of Carswell (at St. Florence), then occupied by Richard Rowe, for the relief of the poor and aged of Tenbie. The farm, to this day, belongs half to the Trustees of the Tenby Charities, and half to the Rector and Churchwardens of St. Mary's, Tenby.
Griffith Dawes of Bangeston, as before stated, had an only daughter, Ann, who married Griffith, son of Henry White of Henllan. Griffith died before his father, leaving an only child, Elizabeth, who thus inherited Bangeston from her grandfather. Griffith Dawes of Bangeston died January 16, 1692, aged seventy, his monument, with a small marble coat of arms bearing the three Daws was one of three monuments which were rescued from destruction when the south transept of Angle Church became ruinous, and was pulled down. They were replaced a few years ago, pieced together as far as broken fragments would allow, in the north transept. One of the other two is a plain grey marble tablet to Mrs. Elizabeth Pritchard, sister of Mrs. Alice Dawes (probably Griffith s wife), who died January 17, 1725, aged eighty-six; the other, a handsome marble monument surmounted by a coat of arms, to Brigadier General Thomas Ferrers, the third husband of Elizabeth White, granddaughter of Griffith Dawes of Bangeston, who died October 26, 1722. Elizabeth White married four times. First, Thomas Lort, son of Sampson Lort of Eastmoor, Manorbier (Sampson Lort, John Lort of Prickeston, and Sir Roger Lort of Stackpole were brothers; sons of Henry Lort of Stackpole, Sheriff in 1619). Grandfather Dawes is said to have disapproved of the match, and to have hurried across the fields from Bangeston to Angle Church to stop the wedding; but Thomas (a sailor) and the wily Elizabeth had got a chaplain with a special licence at the boat-house at the foot of Bangeston Hill, and so outwitted the irate old gentleman, crossing the Haven afterwards in a boat. Elizabeth s second husband was Richard, Viscount Bulkeley; then came Brigadier General Thomas Ferrers, to whom she erected the marble monument , on which she describes him as her truely mourned and dearly beloved husband, Lastly, she married John Hook, who was Sheriff in 1755, and who survived her. She left no children by any of her husbands, and John Hook therefore bequeathed Bangeston to his godson and namesake, John Hook Campbell, Lyon King at Arms; he was a grandson of Sir Alexander, who married Miss Lort of Stackpole, brother of Sir Plyse Campbell, and uncle of John, first. Baron Cawdor; he died in 1795. His son Matthew married. Ellstacia, daughter of Francis Basset, of Heanton Court Devon, and had a son, also Matthew (who married Anne, daughter of William Adams of Holyland, and died without issue), and three daughters, coheiresses; of whom Eustacia married her cousin Sir George Campbell, G.C.B., brother of John, First Baron Cawdor; he died in 1821, leaving no issue.
Matthew Campbell appears to have got into money difficulties which obliged him to sell Bangeston; the valuable lead roof was stripped off, and everything removed that could be turned into money, and the bare walls soon assumed the look of ruin and decay. This must have happened after 1789, as Richard Gough, in an Addendum to Camden, mentions Bangeston as then occupied, and Fenton in 1811 laments its ruined state and recalls its remembered hospitality, therefore the dismantling must have occurred some time between these two dates. Fenton also mentions its Norman founder; if this is correct he must have founded an older house than the ruin we now see, whose long, unfortified facade, large oblong windows and general sumptuous style point to much later and less troubled times, when the fear of the enemy was not constantly before men s eyes. The walled enclosure immediately in front of the house, now overgrown with trees, and a carpet of daffodils in spring, called the Bowling Green. There is a large kitchen garden with magnificently high walls, an artificial pond in the wood adjoining, and traces of an old watermill; also an avenue of beeches, leading away to the westward, still recalls the glories of the old house.
Matthew Campbell was a great friend of Fenton s, and entertained him at his house in Pembroke on his Tour in 1811.
Bangeston, with Hall, Angle, and the bulk of the Angle property, was bought in 1805 by John Mirehouse, Esq., from Lord Cawdor, and remains in his family to the present day. Bangeston being a ruin, Hall became the dwellinghouse, but at the time of purchase the family resided (as Lord Cawdor's tenants) at Brownslade, and did not take up their residence at Hall until 1864.
The Parish Church Ded.: St. Mary.
The church consists of nave (50 feet by 20 feet), chancel (30 feet by 14 feet), north transept (192 feet by 13 feet), west tower (19 feet by 16 feet) and a modern south porch. The tower opens to the nave by a pointed arch, it is of three storeys with a pointed barrel vault to the lowest and a domed roof to the belfry, the stones being further covered with tiles, a not uncommon feature of the church towers of South Pembrokeshire. The apex of this tiled dome is on a level with battlements, which, with the usual corbel table, crown the tower.
In the southwest angle is a projecting turret with seventy-six stairs. A doorway to the west is blocked; above it is a modern window. The belfry has two square-headed lights. The font of the Norman cushion type, has been scraped and coloured. The nave north wall and the north transept are probably 13C, and the font is Norman. The 15C tower has a vaulted lowest stage and a dome roofed belfry. The nave south wall, the porch, chancel, and north chapel are all Victorian.
The Church was heavily restored in 1853 by R. K. Penson but no actual account of the work done could be found.
This benefice was formerly a rectory as well as a vicarage. The rectory was vested in the Priory of Pembroke, which was a cell to the Benedictine Abbey of St. Martin at Seyes in Normandy. In consequence of this, Pembroke Priory, during the wars between England and France, was constantly being seized by the King of England. Prior to 1461 the priory was taken into the king s hands, who granted it on 22 Dec., 1461, to the Abbey of St. Albans. Pat. Rolls.
The church of Angle was assessed in 1291 at £8, the tenths payable to the King being 16s. - Taxatio.
Ecclesia de Angulo Ecclesia parrochialis ibidem ex collatione abbatis Sancti Albani unde Willielmus Benett est inde rector. Et habet ibidem rectoriam et glebam fructus et emolimenta ad reetoriam spectan que valent communibus annis xijli. Unde sol in quadam pensione priori de Pembr annuatim xxiijY iiijd. Et pro visita-tione ordin ari a quolibet tercio an llo x iij d. Et in procur-acionibus et sinodalibus archidiaconi quolibet anno vg d Et remanet clare 10s l0d. Inde decima.Valor Eccl.
Vicaria de Angulo:Ecclesia vel vicaria ibidem ex collacione episcopi Menevensis unde Willielmus Yevans est vicarius et habet ibidem unam mansionem. Et valet in toto pro parte dicti vicarii per annum iiij". Inde sol pro procuracione quolibet anno xijd. Et remanet clare 7gs. Inde decima 7s. 11d. - Valor Eccl.
Under the heading Livings remaining in Charge : Angulo alias Angle alias Nangle R. (St. Mary). Pens Pri. Pembr. £1 3s. 4d. Vis. Ordinari. quolibet tertio anno 1s. 1d. Archidiac. quolibet anno s. gd. Abb. St. Albani olim Patr. The Prince of Wales. King's Books, £10 10s. 0d., #100. Yearly tenths, £1 1s. 0d. - Bacon's Liber Regis.
Under the heading Livings Discharged Angulo alias Angle V. (St. Mary). Pro. quolibet anno 1s. Mans. eum part. decim. Rector Propr. Bishop of St. Davids. Clear yearly value, £26. King's Books, £3 19s. 2d.
There is a ruinated chapel in which no divine service is performed, called St. Mary's, within half a mile of the parish church; a ruinated almshouse and £30 left by the will of Griffith Dawes Esq. of Barneston [Bangeston] near 40 years since, but no part thereof is yet paid by his administrators towards the repair thereof. Diocese Book for 1715. The site of this chapel is at Chapel Bay.
On 10 Sept., 1853, the parish schoolroom of Angle was licensed for divine service during the restoration of the church.
On 5 Aug. 1886, the vicarage of Angle was merged in the rectory by an Order in Council, whereby the sinecure Rectory was suppressed as from l0 April, 1885.
Browne Willis in his list of churches (see Paroc Wall.) mentions a chantry dedicated to St. George as being dependent on Angle Church. This chantry is very probably the neat little building, described by Fenton as being in the north east corner of the cemetery at Angle, and built over a vault.
1200 Gerald de Barri
1325 Mar 9 Thomas de Cotyngham.
1325 Mar 21 Howell ap Gryffith.
1383 William de Faryngton.
1383 Jul 18
William Wright, vice William de Faryngton.
1383 Sep 29 John Wayte.
1405 Mar 21 John Ufford.
1428 Henry Welles,
1446 Dec 20 Res Philip, Bach.Decrees.
1472 Apr 17 Alexander Kyng
1486 Robert Smyth, vice Alexander Kyng, deceased
1535-6 William Benett.
1554 John Griffith.
1580 Richard Meredith.
1591 Dec 22 John Farrar, M.A.
1604 Griffith Vaughan.
1621 Dec 21 Paul de la Ravier.
1622 Apr 20
1638 Aug 11 John Ganry de la Champnolle.
1684 Jun 15 Joseph Wilkers.
1702 Mar 18 John Shores.
1714 Mar 5 Christopher Baines, M.A. vice John Shore, deceased.
1719 Mar 4 Robert Eyre, M.A.,14 vice Christopher Baynes, deceased.
1775 Jun 9 Thomas Mills Hoare, M.A vice Robert Eyre, deceased
1783. May 23. Thomas Birt, vice Thomas Mills Hoare, deceased
1815. Apr. 27. Frederick Henry Neve, M.A., vice Thomas Birt, deceased.
1844. Jan. 19. William North, M.A.,l8 vice Frederick Henry Neve, M.A., deceased.
1876. Dec. 15. Charles Gresford Edmondes, vice William North, ceded.
1896. Jan. 15. William Lloyd Harries, M.A.,17 vice Robert Weeks, deceased, who died on 19 Nov., 1895,
the vicarage having been merged in the rectory by order in Council 5 Aug., 1886, whereby the suppressed as sinecure rectory was from 10 April, 1885.
1902 Nov 25
Edwin John Wolfe, vice William Lloyd Harries instituted to Llanbedr, Ys-tradyw.
1907 Nov 2 William Garner, MA.,17 vice Irvin John Wolfe, resigned on 1st April, 1907.
1402 John Kydde.
1402 Sep. 23. Robert Salmon, vice John Rydde, exchanged.
1422 Nov. 18. Henry Gayrstang.
1424 Jan. 29. William Hodonet
1441 John Baker
1491 Mar. 23. Symon Pecoke, vice John Baker, resigned.
1495 Nov. 25. William Cornysh.
1534 William Jeven
1554 May 9. James Esmunde.
1565 July 18. John Butler, vice James Esmonde, deceased.
1661 Thomas Westbie, M.A.
1662 Oct. 15 John Wonnacker.
1667 Apr. 8 Thomas Price, vice John Wonnacker, resigned.
1675 Mar 4 Richard Newton, BA.,10 P vice . . deceased.
1691 John Catlin.
1703 Jan. 23. Charles Williams.
1755 Jun. 25. John Williams, vice Charles Williams, deceased.
1784 Dec. 18. John Higgon, BA., vice John Williams, deceased
1787 May 3. David Davies, vice James Higgon, deceased.
1804 Aug. 23 James Hicks, vice David Davids,resigned
1817 Jan. 20. Thomas Dalton, l3 vice James Hicks, deceased.
1859 Mar. 2. John Carne Pocock, vice Thomas Dalton, deceased.
1868 Apr. 21. Robert
Weeks, vice John Came Pocock, resigned
Registers are held in the NLW
baptism from 1784
marriage from 1755
burials from 1784
The earliest Bishops transcripts 1685-7
1851 Census of Religious Buildings
Rev. Thomas Dalton (who was also vicar of Warren and Castlemartin) records that
Average congregations: (12 months): morn. 100 to 160 + 42 to 45 scholars; aft. 100 to 160 + 42 to 45 scholars.
Remarks: The Parish of Angle comprises a Sinecure Rectory with a Good Glebe House & Garden, with three fourths of the tithes (Agricultural) leaving the Resident Vicar or Incumbent one fourth with 3 acres of Glebe. No habitable House of Residence without paying a high rent to the Proprietor and the performance of the whole duties of the Parish. The Population consists chiefly of Fishermen with their families including farm labourer's families employed by the Farmers in the neighbourhood or otherwise:Thomas Dalton. Vicar.
Lewis: sinecure rectory and discharged vicarage; rectory rated at £10.. 10, of net annual value of £157 with glebe of 20 acres and a glebe-house; vicarage rated at £3 19s 2d, endowed with £600 royal bounty, of gross annual value of £80: patron, Bishop of St. David's: one fourth of the tithes appropriated to the vicarage, and the remainder to the rectory.
1 service in English.
Incumbent: legally not resident. There are no non-conformist chapels; but according to the 1851 census of Religious buildings Thomas Harris of Milford states
I am a Baptist Home Missionary having not, as yet any chapel erected, therefore do preach in a cottage and in the open air. We have no Sabbath School for the want of a place to keep it in. I preach in Castlemartin hundred in ten or eleven different places week nights included - the average congregation: mornings 40 - 50, evenings 50 - 70.
Chapel: In the burial ground north of the church is a small detached chapel (15 feet by 12 feet), beneath which is a chamber, probably an ossuary; both have plain vaults.
The chapel, a little fisherman's chapel built in 1447 is entered by a western doorway with a plain pointed arch, and approached by steps, has at the east end a square-headed window of two trefoiled lights, and on the south a similar light. The stone altar is said (Arch. Camb., 1880, IV, xi, 842) to have come from St. Twinnell's church. In the south wall is a plain piscine. At the west end of the north wall is an empty tomb recession the floor opposite to it is a much-worn full length uninscribed effigy of an ecclesiastic, probably the one noted by Fenton (Tour, 401) as being then "in the churchyard almost covered with the shard". The undercroft has a plain vault entered from the east end by a pointed doorway, and is lighted by two small quatrefoils on the north and south sides.
On the south side of the churchyard is a plain cross standing upon a calvary of three steps; it has been restored.
Angle: St Mary Parish of Castlemartin "The Church has small fisherman's chapel above a crypt and with small stained glass window showing Christ walking on the waters."
"Standing in the S/E Corner of Angle churchyard there is a little chapel 15 x12 , now known as "the Fisherman's Chapel". Dedicated originally to St. Anthony it replaced s a small single chamber over a vault built in 1447 by Edward de Shirburn. A tomb recess lies empty on one side, and a priest s effigy on the other. It was built by the Shirburn family as a chantry [a chapel where mass could be said for the departed]. Its vaulted undercroft was intended as an ossuary [a repository for bones]. [A similar chapel stands in the churchyard at Carew, and there are traces of others in the area. They make an interesting link with Northern Brittany s Parish Closes]. By the 16th century the chapel at Angle was known as the Chapel of St. George the Martyr. A will of about 1500 transfers endowments which had belonged to the Chapel of St Anthony, then recently washed away from the shore of West Angle Bay, to this Chapel (seats 14).
St Mary's Chapel and Well: On the northern shore of the parish, at a point about half a mile north of the village of Angle, are sites called on the Ordnance sheets Chapel and Chapel Well, where stood a ruinated chapel in which no divine service is performed, called St. Mary's within half a mile of the parish church" (MS. Diocesan Book 1715). No trace of the building remains. It stood within a small circular enclosure formed by a bank which at the beginning of this century was about 2 feet high (Pem. Arch. Survey). This is now barely distinguishable, nor are there any signs of burials. The well has been covered and a pump introduced. It would appear that there was a road or track to this site as there are records dated 1595 and 1596 referring to St Mary s well road.
St. Anthony's Chapel: On the shore of West Angle Bay about one mile west of Angle village is site called in the Tithe Schedule (No. 14) Old Church. This would appear to have been destroyed before the year l500. In a field on the West side of Pill Bay can still be traced the site of a Church. The field is called Church Meadow and coffins and bones were said to have been found there. In 1997 parts of a skeleton were revealed by a landslip and two boys were found to be using a skull as a football on the beach. Remains were removed to a museum.
Ellen's Well: This is marked on the Ordnance sheet as being on the cliffs half a mile east of Chapel Bay It could not be traced, nor any information obtained about it.
Globe Hotel: is first mentioned in records in 1871 when it was kept by George and Maria Griffiths. The present Georgian style Globe Hotel was converted from two houses in 1904 used as a military convalescent hospital in WW1 and in WW2 military personnel were billeted there.
East Blockhouse 1578
The Hall 1526
also referred to as the Court House 1602
According to Francis Jones
The Hall of.
Fenton recorded a local legend that three co-heiresses decided each to build a residence at Angle: one built a castle, the other a very handsome building in the village, and the third built a mansion a little way out of the village, to the south-east called the Hall which appears in its day to have been very respectable and belonged till of late years to a family of the name of Kinner, a name that still exists in the village. The Kinners were engaged in trade and farming at Angle and Haverfordwest, and intermarried with families like the Voyles, and Walter of Roch. In 1587 Sir John Perrot was lord of the manor of Hall place in Nangle . The herald, Dwnn, in 1613 recorded the pedigree of William Kiner off the Hawl off Angel The family continued at the hall for nearly two more centuries; John Kinner was assessed at four hearths in the Hall in 1670; and William Kinner was mayor of Pembroke in 1703. The house is described in 1739 as The Hall alias Court House in Angle . In 1786 William Kinner was owner-occupier of Hall lands while John Hook Campbell owned a part of the same lands. Early in the 19th century the Hall was purchased by John Mirehouse of Brownslades and became the main seat of that family.
Notably an improving landlord and an enterprising farmer, the new owner was also a JP, and in 1810 High Sheriff. He improved the Hall as a residence which his descendants through the female line still occupy. The Tithe Schedule 1841 describes John Mirehouse as owner of Hall Manor , with George Thomas as farming tenant there, one of the fields being known as Kiners meadow.
The estate eventually passed to R B Levett who had married a Mirehouse daughter and their son R W B Levett took the surname Mirehouse in 1864. R. W. B. Mirehouse of the Hall was High Sheriff in 1886 and owning an estate of 3,450 acres.
Hardings Hill 1522
Hubberton (Overton,) 1582
West Pill 1595
Old Windmill 1298
1170 April Henry II sailed from "The Nangle" on his expedition against Ireland with "Strongbow" 3 Ships [some date it Oct. 18 1172]
Gilbert de Angulo joined in the Pembrokeshire conquest of Ireland under Henry II., and was granted lands in Meath (hence the Nangles of West Meath to this day); he lost them by rebellion, was pardoned in 1307, and granted lands in Connaught, where his descendants took the name of MacHostilo, now Costello.
1171. "Among the Norman French Knights of Pembrokeshire who took part in the descent upon Ireland was a Nangle or Angul. The family established itself near Navan in the county of Meath and founded a church at a place called Cannistown or Canonstown. One branch of these Irish "Angles" became known as"Costellos". (Royal Commission on Ancient Monuments County of Pembroke).
1173 - 6. Gilbert and Jocelyn of Angle rewarded for their service in Ireland with estates in Meath, Ireland Gilbert with what later became known as the Barony of Morgallion, Jocelyn with Ardhronan and Naven.
(The History of Pembrokeshire Rev. James Phillips 1909).
1173 - 76 Gerald de Barri Geraldus Cambrensis held living of Angle
1174 - 1175 not dated. Gir. Camb, De Rebus (R.S.), Vol. 1 p24.
Gerald de Barri, seeing that almost throughout the diocese of St. Davids and especially in the region of Demetia and Keretia, by the lack of care of the prelates, neither tithes of wool nor cheese were given, went to Canterbury to which at that time, the church of St. Davids, like the whole of Wales, was subject to provincial law, and showed these defaults to Archbishop Richard, then primate of all England and legate, who sent him back to Wales as his legate, to amend these irregularities and others, which he should find there. The archbishop in his letters warned and enjoined all for the remission of sins, that those who had not formerly given these tithes, should give them. To those who were willing to give at his monition, he relaxed a third part of the penance enjoined, but the obstinate and those who refused to give, he ordered should be coerced strictly by ecclesiastical censure. All the Welsh forthwith obeyed these monitions and agreed to give those tithes, as did all others in the whole country, except the Flemings of Ros, and their accomplices, who would have been put under interdict for a long period, had not the sentence imposed been relaxed by the archbishop at the instance of Henry II to whom they went.
1174 - 5 not dated: Gir. Camb. De Rebus (RS) Vol.1 p25.
William Karquit, sheriff of the province (provincia) ordered his officers and apparitors to take eight yoke of oxen belonging to the priory of Penbroc, where Gerald de Barri was fulfilling his legation, and drive them to the castle. When required for the third time to restore the same, he utterly refused and even promised worse, Gerald sent word to him that unless he restored the oxen he would be placed immediately under sentence of excommunication, to which he replied that he would not dare to excommunicate the king s constable in his own castle. Gerald replied that when the sheriff heard all the bells of the whole monastery rung at triple intervals then he would know without doubt that he was being excommunicated. Immediately the messengers had returned, by authority of his legation, with candles lit, he solemnly gave the sentence of excommunication on him, in the presence of the monks of that place, and many of the clergy of the country, and likewise caused all the bells to be sounded together, as was customary, to confirm the sentence or rather to announce the fact. On the morrow, the robber came to the castle of Lanwadein, before David, the diocesan bishop, and Gerald and his colleague, Master Michael, whom the archbishop had attached to him, who had gone there, restitution having been made and satisfaction given, when he was beaten with rods, he was to be absolved.
(Episcopal Acts relating to Welsh Dioceses 1066 1272 James Conway Davies Vol. 1).
1175 - 6 not dated. The inhabitants of the cantref of Dugledu and those of Angle were recalled under the sentence of interdict. The latter, though dwelling in the province (provincia) of Penbroc, were Flemings, and like those of Ros and Dugledu had spent money to obtain the immunity, which they likewise wished to enjoy.
1175 - 6 not dated. The
parishioners of Angle, which was a church of Gerald, archdeacon of Brecon, and
which was under interdict, and its parishioners excommunicated on account of
their rebellion, sought the grace of absolution, with the leave and blessing of
David the bishop of St David, with whom he was staying at Kerreu, Gerald set out
to grant it.
(Ger. Camb. De Rebus (R.S) Vol. 1 p29).
1215. Irish grants to a Walter and Phillip de Angulo the grant to the latter being confirmed in 1232.
1247. Richard de Angulo held of the earl a knight s fee at Angle;
1278. Stephen, and Philip de Angulo granted various lands and demesnes in and about Angle, together with wreck of the sea, to Robert de Shirburn, with remainder in default of male issue to his daughter Joan, wife of Robert de Castro. The Golden Grove book (page 336) gives Philip de Angulo as marrying daughter and heir of Stephen de Angulo, and their daughter Isabel as marrying Robert Shirburn, the son of John Shirburn.
John de Shirburn was Sheriff of Pembrokeshire. He possibly came here with the great Earl William de Valance, as the home of the Shirburns was in Lancashire. Robert, his son, was Sheriff in 1298, as we see in Philip de Angulo's Charter; the next was Walter, who was a Juror at Pembroke in 1327 and 1331; after him came his son Nicholas, who received in 1340 from Lawrence Hastings, then Earl of Pembroke, a general pardon for offences committed, probably during the Earl s long minority. Nicholas died in 1350 (his wife s name was Margaret). His son John was a Juror at Pembroke in 1357, and did service to Sir William de Carew; he died in 1362, leaving a daughter, Alice, ten years old.
1290 6th November. John de Scyrebur who witnessed the confirmation of a Charter by which Fishguard was given to the monks of St. Dogmaels - had a son Robert who was Sheriff of Pembroke in 1298.
1298. This was the same Philip who granted that other charter to William de Rupe or Roch, which was found by Dr. Scott in the British Museum, and of which the following is a translation:-
From British Museum
Stone Charter, XXXII. 14.
Know all, present and future, that I, Philip de Angulo, has given, granted, and by this my present Charter confirmed to William de Rupe (Roch) all my land which I have in the tenement of Angle, with appurtenances, together with the dowry of my mother, Isabel, when it shall occur, and a certain Island called Sepinilond (Sheep Island) and all my rents of Angle, as well of a windmill as of all my men, with suit of Court and services of the same, without any retention therefrom to me or my heirs. To have and to hold the aforesaid land, with the aforesaid rents, which is aforesaid, with the appurtenances, to the said William and his heirs or assigns from the lord in chief of the fee according to measurement, and as it is assigned to the said William by ancient fixed bounds and limits, freely, quietly, in peace, hereditary, for ever; in meadows, marshes, ways, paths, waters, pastures, turbaries, commons, wreck, in all easements, save only in forinsic (foreign) service in all things the lord in chief of the fee as is due therefrom and customary.
But I, the aforesaid
Philip, and my heirs and assigns, bind ourselves to warrant and acquit and
defend forever against all men, the aforesaid land and appurtenances, together
with the aforesaid rents, to the said William and his heirs and assigns. And
that this my gift and grant, and confirmation of my present Charter, may remain
ratified and established in the future, I have strengthened this present deed
with the impression of my seal.
John de Nenborth, (Narberth) Seneschal (Steward of Pembroke).
Robert de Shyrburn Sheriff (Angle).
Sir Nicholas de Karren (Warrens)
Sir Gilbert de Rupe (Roch).
Sir Richard de Stakepole.
Sir John de Bary (Manorbier).
Henry son of Henry (Fitzhenry)
David de Rupe (Roch).
David Wyliot (Orielton).
David Malesent (Malefant, Upton).
William de Creppings.
John de Castro and many others, given at Angle on the Feast of the Purification of the Blessed Virgin in the year of Our Lord, 1298.
In 1314 to 1375 we find Philip de Angulo and his son John holding a fee nominally of the Earl (it appears to have remained in their family notwithstanding the charter to William de Rupe in 1298), but the domain seems then to have passed to the Shirburns, who held it for two centuries; their dwelling, or castle, as also of the de Angulos, was that of which a small part still stands at the head of Angle creek, behind the church, and is still called Angle Castle. A square tower, showing three storeys, with windows and fireplaces, is all that now remains, but at a short distance there stands an old Norman Columbarium, or Pigeon-house, still in a wonderful state of preservation. This was supposed to indicate the dwelling of a Baron in Norman times, as none of less rank might keep pigeons. In Owen s time, Angle Bay ran out shoal, as it does now, saving neere the towne, where is good landing at all tymes of the tyde; we therefore can conclude that the de Angulos and Shirburns were able to bring their ships right up to their castle walls.
John Cradock of Newton was also a Juror in 1327. Another John held lands in Castlemartin in 1347; he died in 1350, the same year as Nicholas de Shirburn, and Roger (Fenton says Robert), his son, then aged seventeen, married Margery de Shirbum, Nicholas s daughter, the day after her father's death. On the death of her brother John in 1362, leaving only Alice, aged ten, Margery may have inherited Angle; Fenton calls her a daughter and co-heiress (with John). Roger, or Robert Cradock, is buried at Angle, which makes it appear probable. He was called Lord of Newton in Roos (Roose, in Llanstadwell parish), his descendant, Sir Richard Cradock, married a daughter of Sir Thomas Perrott, and the heiress of Jestynton, and changed his name to Newton; he died in 1444, and is buried at Bristol; he was Lord Chief Justice of England. The family of Cradock, or Caradog, was descended from Prince Jestyn ap Owain ap Hywel Dda, who built Jestynton.
Robert de Vale, Lord of Dale, had property in Angle, for in an old deed he grants lands In Angulo to Stephen the son of Alexander de Angulo; and de Shirburn may have succeeded to the property by marrying a daughter of Stephen.
1324: The rent of assize of the ville of Angle at Michaelmas 18d;
1331 April 27. Stratford. C. Inq. Misc., File 115 (13), (Cal p290, No 1185).
Stratford 27 April 5 Edward III 2,27 pursuant to complaint of wrongful disseisin
"Writ to Richard Simond, steward of the county of Pembroke
"Inquisition Tuesday the feast of St. Barnabas, 5 Edward III
Jurors: "Walter de Bromhilla," Stephen Rou, John Beneger, junior of Angle, Richard Harols, John Bron, Roger de Lony, Henry Beneger, John Dawe, John Eynon, William Robelyn, Walter de Schirborn, and William de Middilhille.
1340 June 25 Pembroke. Add. Ch. 6027.
Special pardon by Laurence de Hastynges, Earl of Pembroke to Nicholas de Schirbourn of all homicides, robberies, etc.
Witnesses, Stephen James, deputy of Guy de Bryan, our Steward of Pembroke, (seal repaired/pendant).
1348 September 2 Westminster. I. P. M. Edward III, files 91 and 92 Lawrence de Hastynges.
Writ directed to John Scholle, escheator in co. Hereford and the March of Wales, Westminster, 2 September, 22 Edward III (1348)
Pembroke: Extent of the whole county made before John de Sholle, Thursday, the feast of St Michael, in Monte Tumba, 22 Edward IV (1348).
Jurors: John Perot,
Thomas de Castro, John Cantrell, William Robelyn, William Parthecorn, Andrew
Wyseman, Nicholas Shirborn, William Porthcrachan, John Beneger, Henery Beneger,
1348 September 24. Pembroke.
Writ of certiorari de feodis etc., to John de Shol, escheator in Hereford and the adjacent March of Wales, 24 September, 22Edward III Extent of all fees and advowsons of churches in the county of Pembroke, made at Pembroke on Thursday in the feast of St Michael de Monte Tumba, 22 Edward III.
Jurors; John Cantrel, William Adam, William Robelyn, Thomas de Castro, Andrew Wysman, John Beneger, John Rou, John Robyn, William Parttrahan, John Hilton and Henry Beneger.
Laurence de Hastings, Earl of Pembroke, had in the county of Pembroke 251/2 knights fees and three carucates of land, viz.;
Benegeriston, one tenth fee held by Willian Beneger and Joan his wife, of the right of the said Joan, worth yearly 26s 8d
1353 June 6. Chancery Misc. Inquisition No 168.
Writ dated 6 June Edward III, touching the knight s fees held by the late Laurence de Hastings, Earl of Pembroke.
Inquisition at Pembroke 6 April 27 Edward III, before Thomas de Aston.
Jurors: John Melyn, William Parthcorn, Thomas Castel, Richard ..rchard, John Wydelok, John Suteri, John Coke, David ap Llewelyn Vaughan, John Castel de fflemyneston, John..... Edward Castel, John Bisschop.
Walter Scurlag held of the heir of Laurence Hastinges, late Earl of Pembroke, in free socage, 30a of land in Begeristoun, worth 5s yearly; also he held jointly with Margaret his wife at Kylkemoran the moiety of a knight s fee, worth 40s yearly; and the said Margaret his survivor, holds the said tenements for her life. And he held of John de Carrew, kt, 11/2 carucate of land at Martheltwist, worth yearly 1/2 mark; also he held of the heir of Laurence de Hastinges 70 acres in Coytrath conjointly with Margaret his wife, his survivor as above, worth yearly 11s 8d. Also he held of the heir of the aforesaid Lawrence 30 acres of land by Welsh law (per legem Wallensicam) which lands owe no ward and marriage, worth yearly 5s.
Nicholas de Shirbourn, on his death, held of the demesne of Pembroke 50s 4d of rent in Scurlageston, of which Margaret, his wife, held one third in dower. Also he held 21/2 carucates of land in Angle of the Earl of Gloucester conjointly with Margaret his wife who survived him and worth 100s yearly; John son of the said Nicholas, is his next heir, and was 18 years old on the death of his father. Also he held 12s rent in Angle of the Earl of Gloucester, of which the said Margaret receives one third by way of dower. His marriage is worth 20 marks.
John Craddok, at his death (Monday after the Feast of the Assumption of Holy Mary, 24 Edward III) , held of the demesne of Pembroke, 6 bovates of land in Neuton, worth 20s yearly. Roger, his son, is next heir, age 17 years. The said Roger married the daughter of Nicholas Schirbourn, et disponsati fuerint in crastino post obitum patris. His marriage is worth 20s.
1358. I. P. M.., 5 Edw. III, 2, no 163.
Sir William de Carew held of John Shirburn, by military service, ten messuages, five carucates and three bovates of land at Angle.
1366. Patent Roll, 40 Edward III, pt 1, m. 6 & 3.
Inspeximus in favour of the earl of Pembroke etc. of the particulars of the partition temp. of the heritage of William Marshal, etc. :
(a) Knights Fees in Pembroke
1] Share of the Countess of Wareinne
Nicholas fitz Martin 4 fees
Richard Araud 1 fee
Walter fitz Gilbert 1 fee
Philip Bosher 1 fee
Adam de Angulo 1 fee
2] Share of John de Monte Canesio
Walter of Hereford 3 fees
William of Karru 5 fees
David de Barrye 4 fees
Gowelin ap Baron 1 fee
Walter Benger and his cosharers
participes 2 fees
Adam fitz Henry Quarter part of a fee in Koffyn
3] Share of the Earl of Gloucester
John son of Philip 1 fee
Richard of Angle 2 fees
Ralph of Alton 1 fee
Guy de Bryane 1 fee
Simon de Bryane Half of a fee
William de Hutone Half of a fee
Alexander Robelyn One twentieth part of a fee
4] Share of the heirs of De Fferrariis
Philip of Stackepoll 4 fees
John de Villa Maur Half a fee
William of Popetoun 1 fee
Stephan Bauzan One and one half fees
Richard Lupus One tenth of a fee
Peter Watevill Half of a fee
John Ffucer Quarter of a fee
Richard de Briuly Quarter of a fee
David de Interbergh Half of a fee
Robert de Morton Half a fee
Robert Streech Quarter of a fee
William de Stokes One twentieth of a fee
William Fflandrensis One fee
Henry Tolye One fee
David de Wudeworth Half of a fee
Philip Luceyn Three loads of salt for quarter of a fee
John de Gatesden Quarter of a fee
Walter Chaucehoes 2s and tallage, scutage and allowance for one sixth part of a fee
1376 28 May. Westminster Inq. A. O. D. File 389, 125.
Writ, Westminster, 28 May, 50 Edward III (1376), following petition by the burgesses of Tenby requesting a grant of the privilege that they should be quit from toll throughout England, Ireland and Wales, as the burgesses of Pembroke, Haverfordwest, Carmarthen are, in respect of which they now suffer seriously.
Inquisition, before Thomas de Castro, steward and sheriff of Pembroke, Tuesday next after Feast of Apostles Peter and Paul, 50 Edward III.
Jurors: Mathie Wougan, William Malesium, Richard Wyriot, Peter Perot, John Scarloge, Thomas Perot, William Benger, Phillip Estenere, John Lucas, Laurence Bromhulle, Philip Percivall, and William Whyte.
Who say that it would not be to the damage and prejudice of the king to grant that the burgesses of the town of Tenby be quit of toll, murage, pannage, and passage, and all other customs as the burgesses of Pembroke etc. as above.
1377. Richard II seized the priory of Pembroke at which time an extent of its possessions was taken.
Extenta Prioratus de Pembrochia 1 Ric II
Ecclesia pertin ad dictum Prioratum
Ecclesia de Castelmartyn ultra reprisas Valet per annum 1 marc
Item dicunt quod Ecclessia sancti Nicholai cum duabus capell ultra reprisas
Val #x li
Item dicunt quod Ecclesia sancti Michaelis valet per annum ultra reprisas #xiij. vjs viijd
Summa Valoris ecclesiarum iiijxx. #vj. xiijs.iiijd.
Pensiones pertin. ad dictum Prioratum
Ecclesia de Angulo redd. per annum xxiijs ad term. Pasch.et santi Michaelis.
Ecclesia de Porttraghan red. per annum ad eosdem term viijs
Ecclesia de Tymbregh redd. per annum ad eodem term xiijs iiid
Ecclesia de Tallagharn redd. per annum ad eosd. term xs
Ecclesia de Sancti Cumano redd. per annum ad eosdem terminos ijs
Ecclesia de Londchirch redd. per annum ad eosdem terminos ijs
Ecclesia de Villa Galdfrido redd per annum ad eosdem terminos ijs
Ecclesia de sancto Ismael redd. per annum ad eosdem terminos js
Ecclessia de Crynwer redd. per annum ad eosdem terminos ijs
Summa Pensionum ixxjs
Portiones pertin ad dictum Prioratum
Ecclesia de Wynnoci val per annum ixvjs viijd
Ecclesia sancti Petroci val per annum xxvjs viijd
Ecclesia de Costynton val per annum xs
Ecclesia de Nassh val per annum xid
Ecclesia de Carne val per annum xiijs
Ecclesia de Pennaly val per annum xiijs iiijd
Ecclesia de Sancti Florentii val per annum xijd
Summa Portionum #vj. xiijs. iiijd
1378 March 3. Westminster Patent Roll, 1 Richard II pt 4 m 37 (Cal p133).
Commission to David Craddok and to Walter Mille, as justices for holding the Sessions in the County of Pembroke.
1402. Guy etc. to Master John Kermerdyn, our official, greeting etc. Whereas our beloved sons in Christ Sirs John Kydde, vicar of ANGLE, and Robert Salmon, vicar of the parish church of ST. MICHAEL, PEMBROKE, intend, as they assert, to exchange such their benefices with one another and we are unable etc., we grant to you our power and authority etc. Dated at Lagharn, 23 September, 1402, etc.
1406 March 21st. Also on 21 March in the year abovesaid, at London, the same reverent father admitted Sir John Clifford to the parish church of Angle of our diocese, on the presentation of the most excellent prince etc., Henry king etc., patron for this turn by reason of the temporalities of the priory of St. Nicholas, Pembroke, being in his hands by occasion of the war between himself and his adversaries the French; and him, etc., he instituted etc.,.
1447. Nicholas de Carew held lands in Angle of Edward de Shirburn, "by military service and suit of Edwards Court at Nangle." This Edward founded the Chapel of St. Antony believed to be the small chapel behind the Church known as the Sailors Chapel or Fishermans Chapel.
In the Minister Accounts Excheques T. Q. 20 - 41I, Eliz. Schedule of Grants, Fines, Cartas, &c., relating to lands in the county of Pembroke, we find the following:
Littora ballani Alicice Lacy de Angulo facta ad poven-dum Henncum Geffrey et Isabellum uxorem ejes de uno burgagio. (# B. in MS.)
1487 17 March. On 17 March aforesaid at the manor of Lantfey one Sir Robert Smyth, chaplain was admitted to the parish church of Angle vacant by the death of Master Alexander Kyng, last rector there; on the presentation of William abbot of the exempt monastery of St. Alban the protomartyr of the English, of the diocese of Lincoln, true patron of the said church because of the priory of Pembroke. And he had letters etc.
1488 12 February. Henry etc. to H. bishop of St. David s, greeting, we command you that you do not for any liberty omit to enter and cause to be levied for us of goods, benefices, and ecclesiastical possessions, of the underwritten churches in your diocese the sums written by parcels below, namely,
of the church of Jeffreyston, 15s.;
of the church of Tenby, 50s.;
of the church of Carew, £6.;
of the church of Lambston, 9s.;
of the church of Stackpole Bosher, 24s.;
of the church of Marioes, 44s.;
of the church of Newmoat, 14s.;
of the church of Steynton, 54s.;
of the church of Granston, 16s.;
of the church of Fishguard, 24s:
of the church of Maenclochog, 20s.;
of the church of Roch, 10s.;
of the church of St. Bride, 40s.;
of the church of Pwllcrochan, 30s.;
of the church of Narberth, 48s.;
of the church of Burton, 24s.;
of the church of Angle, 24s.;
of the church of Rhoscrowther, 40s.;
of the church of Manorbier 40s.;
of the church of St. Florence, 40s.;
of the church of the town of Cosheston 44s.;
of the church of Herbrandston, 20s.;
of the church of
Stackpole Elider, 40s.;
of the tenth and moiety of a tenth granted to Sir Edward IV late king of England by the clergy of the province of Canterbury, in the fourteenth year of his reign in the archdeaconry of St. David s; and of the goods and chattels, lands and tenements of the prior of Haverford in your said diocese cause to be levied £9. 11s. 11d. One half-penny, one farthing, likewise due to us of the same tenth and moiety for his spiritualitys and temporalities: so that you have those pence at our Exchequer at Westminster on the morrow of the Ascension of the Lord to be paid to us there. And have there then this writ. Witness W. Hody, knight, at Westminster, 12 February in the third year of our reign. By the Great Roll of the first year of Richard III, in Hereford, and By the barons.
1491 23 March. On the 23rd day of the said month Sir Simon Pecoke, chaplain, was admitted by the reverend etc. to the vicarage of Angle and instituted canonically in the same, then vacant by the resignation of Sir John Baker last vicar there: at the presentation of Sir Robert Smyth rector of the said church, true patron of the said vicarage.
1495 25th November. On the 25th day of the said month the aforementioned lord (Lord Hugh bishop of St Davids in his manse of Bridewell, London) collated the perpetual vicarage of the parish church of St Mary, Angle then long-time vacant and in his collation for this turn by lapse, to brother William Cornyshe capacitated for this by papal authority.
1500. Prerogative Register of Canterbury.
In the will of 1500 of Richard Newton, a resident in the parish of Monkton, near Pembroke, he bequeaths "to the chapel of St. George the Martyr of Nangle four tenements in Haverfordwest and Pembroke, which lands of late appertained to the chapel of St. Anthony in the Nangle, and to the augmentation of the stipend of a priest always to sing for the souls of the founders of the chapel of St. Anthony, that is to say...Shelborn and his ancestors and for me and Elinor my late wife." He also directed that "the principal window in the chapel of St. George above the altar shall be renewed and barred with green bars, and that the history and life of St. George shall be pictured upon the glass".
1517.Henry etc., to Edward, bishop of St. David's greetings. Whereas you and the rest of the prelates and clergy of the province of Canterbury granted to us etc., for the preservation and defence of the famous realm and for other considerations moving you, two entire tenths of all benefices and ecclesiastical possessions of the province of Canterbury, taxed and not taxed and usually paying to a tenth, etc.,
In the archdeaconry of St Davids the underwritten churches are excepted:
In the deanery of Pembroke the underwritten churches are excepted:
St. Michaels Pembroke
St. Nicholas Pembroke
1563 Number of households - 54
According to the Port Books names of some of those captaining boats (mainly in between six and twenty tons) operating out of Angle included:
John & William Harris
1566. According to the report of the Commission to suppress Piracy
Angle is mentioned as one of the two biggest villages in the Haven - Could there have been a good reason why this attention was drawn to the Village.
1595. George Owen writes in a MS. giving the course of the strata of coal and lime in Pembrokeshire: The second vayne of lymestone, and cheefest of the two, beginneth at the south of Milford haven, west of the Nangle, at a place called West Pill, where the one side of the Pill you shall perceive the lymestone, and the other a red stone; which kulde of redde stone . . . accompanieth the veine of lymestone almost throweout, as it were a cognisance of the lymestone being hott and fine, and therefore the redde stone is in coller and substance like a stone burned with fire. This vayne . . . passeth estward. . . to Pater Church, Lanion, Lanfey, and to Williamstone by Carewe; and soe estward to St. Florens, and to the norther side of the towne of Tenby, where between it and the Windmills it also goeth to the sea, and . . . there it taketh water, and passing under the sea . . . sheweth itselfe right east of Tenby in the cliffes of Llanridean in Gower . . . about twenty miles from Tenby, all under salt water.
1603. George Owen, writing of the islands round the coast of Pembrokeshire, says: Sheepe Iland, being neere the East side of Mylford at the entrance without the Blocke House, which is but a small temper because as I guesse, sheepe have onely accesse thereunto; for at lowe water it is drye, and therefore scarce deserveth the name an Isand and hath nothinge in yt worth the notinge. Further within the mouth of the havon on the same side, is the land called Ratt Iland, but of the inhabitants more comonlie called Thorne Iland; this is a prettie Iland but verie little, full of deepe Grasse, a muskett shotte from the mayne; this and the last before ys the land of Water Rees Esqre.
Owen mentions Sheep Island elsewhere as Shippe, and that it is only accessible on foot after half ebb, and speaks of the remains of a tower, built on the narrow neck of land approaching the island, which served the country folk and their cattle as a refuge from the raids of the Welsh. This tower has now disappeared, but Fenton says it was standing in Elizabeth s time, and that it was the Norman settlers who used it; but the earthworks, which are still visible, point to Danish origin: probably the tower was added to these. There are also earthworks traceable above West Pickard Bay three-quarters of a mile to the east of Sheep Island.
Speaking of notices to quit, George Owen says: And then was the old tenant at Mydsomer to remove out of the hall house. " Henry Owen in a note says: The farmer then was the old tenant at Midsummer to remove out of the old hall house." Henry Owen in a note says: The farmers houses as distinguished from the cottages, so used also in Galloway the chief house in the manor, was in many parts of England called the Hall House. In his list or Pembroke shire Manors, George Owen gives in Castle Martyn Hundred, Nangle, Hall place in Nangle, thus showing that there were two separate manors. In his notes Henry Owen says: "In Lansdowne MS. Sir John Perrott is said to have held the moiety of a manor, there styled that of "Nangle alias Halecorte" (does this mean the manor of Hall only not of Nangle?), and also lands of Studdock, in that parish Sir John Perrott also held land at Pennar, Wallaston, Lanbeath, East and West Popton Redhill, Shutlake, Moreston, the mill at Pemboke Ferry, Benton, also Linney and Frains Lake. In another list of the Manors in Elizabeth's reign GeorgeOwen gives:
Castell Martyn Sr. Edward Herbert of Powis. (d 1594)
Nangle Walter Rees, curia bidem.
Halle Place in Nangle Perott.
It is curious that in so small a place there should be two manors, but such was evidently the case, and to this day the Squire's residence is always alluded to by the villagers as Hall, not the Hall.
In Anno 19 of Henry VIII., the Collectors of the Tallage were diverse gentlemen and gentlewomen of the best accompt who owned lands in these Vynyes or Lord-ships ; those for Nangle were:
Thomas Perrott, armiger.
Elizabeth Tankard, vidua
1613. Lewis Dwnn in his Visitation mentions that in 1613 John Devereux, son of Patrick Devereux, gent., of Ireland, married Margaret, daughter of John Harries, of Hall, Nangle, and that Owen Margan, BA., was then its Rector. Patrick and Margaret Devereux had a son, John, and a daughter, Elizabeth, who married William Bangwm (Beneger?) of Castell Martyn Lewis Dwnn also speaks of William Kiner (rather Keener), eldest brother of John Kiner, alderman of Harffort, marrying Jowan Kembl off Angel. Their son William Kiner of the Hawl off Angel married Richard Rawd (probable Rowe) off Keel Martyn
Fenton in his Tour in 1811 also speaks of Hall as belonging till of late years to a family called Kinnar. (The field behind the house still bears the name of Kenner s Meadow ). Among the twenty-four Common Councilmen, from whom the first Mayor of Haverfordwest (John Howell) was elected, occurs the name of John Kynner.
Fenton mentions a tradition that three sisters, co-heiresses, built each a house in Nangle; one the Castle, one Hall, and one a building now called the Nunnery, probably also used at some time as such; but he gives no date, and there is no evidence that I can find in any other record to confirm the statement.
1633. According to Cawdor MS 26/1000 the open fields to the South and West of Angle had not been enclosed.
1786. John Campbell of Stackpole purchased the Bangeston estate.
1794 circa. [St. Petrox] extract from a Letter from Cha[rle]s Pigott Pritchett, rural dean of Pembroke , to William Stuart Bishop of St. David's .....
"The state of the churches in my district is now become so decent and in tolerable order that it is unnecessary for me to trouble your lordship with particulars. I wish I had as good an account to give of many of the vicarage houses. That of Nangle stands in most deplorable condition".
1795 December 8. Holyland. ADAMS to John Campbell Esq.
I thank you for your kind letter which I received yesterday and perfectly agree with you in opinion relative to the exportation of corn, the supplying the markets, and also that no language should be held to irritate mob, but unhappily great cause was given for alarm by Roch of Paskeston and Hervey of Angle buying up wheat to export. The report from the magistrates to the Duke of Portland s letter was that wheat is the shortest crop and that there is certainly not enough in the country for its consumption. If then the middling class are sufferers, will they not complain, and their complaints go a great way to irritate the lower orders of people who have most intercourse with them?
The farmers had withheld from supplying the market for a fortnight to enhance the price (then too great), and notwithstanding every argument of policy and interest to them they would not be prevailed on until the people became tumultuous. Now they are justly alarmed, as are the corn factors. The farmers have promised a constant supply to the markets and the factors will not export. So far good is come from evil. You seem to think that party jealousies were the cause, but I do assure you I never saw all ranks, parties and classes of people so irritated (farmers and factors excepted) and all joining in the same language. The heat is now, thank God, allayed, and I trust no cause will be given to revive it, for then no one can pronounce what consequences will ensue. Your name has been glanced at as acting in contradiction to the spirit of resolutions you brought forward at the quarter sessions by letting Bangeston to Harvey. I told Mr. Mirehouse of it, and afterwards when it was reported he was concerned with Harvey I desired Mr Hand to tell him of it that he might justify himself: enclosed is his letter to me and my answer. Since Harvey has declared Mirehouse is not concerned, but you'll see by M's letter to me there was a plan which he says you were unacquainted with. I mention this as I am zealous for your honour and think Ishould not act right by you in not acquainting you with it.
The Fencibles with Captain Ackland and the Yeomanry paraded on Saturday last and will again next market day, so that I hope all will be quiet. But I repeat it depends on supplying the markets and no exportation. I hope Lady Caroline and the boys were well when you heard.
Miss Adams joins me in every good wish for you all.
Endorsed: Pray present my best respects to Mr. Greville when you see him.
NLW. MS. 1352 B. ff, 310 14,
NLW. MS. 1352 B. ff, 310 14,
1801. Number of families in Angle Parish = 72
1805. John Mirehouse bought property of Angle from Lord Cawdor
1810. There is a record of a Sailing ship being built at Angle, the only one which appears on the registers of the ports of Milford or Pembroke. It would have appeared to have been a vessel of 29 tons.
1823 22nd March. John Mirehouse died and buried in Angle Church. He was a great agriculturist and improved the output of the land in the area considerably - see Edward Law.
According to the Census 1831 1841. There was a decrease in population in Angle parish of 74 from 458 in 1831 to 388 in 1841. In 1841 there was 100 houses inhabited and 6 uninhabited. The population consisted of 160 males and 228 females. The decrease continued long term because the population in 1951 was recorded as 317.
1834 Topographical Dictionary of Wales.
ANGLE, or NANGLE, a parish in the hundred of CASTLEMARTIN, county of PEMBROKE, containing 458 inhabitants.
This parish is situated at the south-western extremity of the county, and in an angle of Milford haven, Wording excellent anchorage for small vessels; from which circumstance it probably has obtained its name. Limestone of very excellent quality is found here in abundance, which, being susceptible of a fine polish, is formed into mantelpieces, and a considerable portion of it is burnt for manure. The female inhabitants are employed in platting straw for bonnets, hassocks, and matting, and, during the season, the men are occupied in dredging for oysters. The living consists of a sinecure rectory and a discharged vicarage, in the archdeaconry and diocese of St. Davids, the former rated in the king's books at #.10 10. and in the patronage of the Crown; and the latter rated at £5 19s. 2d. endowed with£400 royal bounty, and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David s; two-thirds of the tithes are appropriated to the rectory, and one-third to the vicarage. The church is dedicated to St. Mary. A school for the gratuitous instruction of about twenty-five poor girls is entirely supported by Mrs Mirehouse of Brownslade in the parish of Castlemartin.
Near the entrance of the haven are the remains of an ancient building, called the Block-House, of the origin or purpose of which there is no historical record: From its situation it appears to have been erected for the protection of the entrance, probably in the reign of Henry VIII., or Elizabeth; but, from the excellency of the masonry some tourists have ascribed to it a Roman origin. Near the church is a mansion called the Hall, the property of John Mirehouse, Esq., of Brownslade, to whom the whole parish belongs, and now in the occupation of a tenant. The average annual expenditure for the support of the poor is £229. 16s.
PARISH OF ANGLE. - on the 26th of December I visited the above parish, which is served by the same clergyman as Warren. He resides at Angle. There is a small school in the village kept by a person who is also a baker and keeps one or two cows. The school had been broken up for the Christmas holidays, and would not be open for the next three weeks. The master receives annually from the sinecure Rector, the Reverend W. North, Professor of Latin Literature at St. David's College, Lampeter,£5 for educating eight poor children of the Parish; and an additional £5 from Mrs. Mirehouse, the lady of the principal resident proprietor of the parish for educating 10 others. The inhabitants of the village are chiefly fishermen. The labourers who live in the parish are very poor. Wages are 8d. per day with food, or ls. on their own finding. Mr. Dalton informed me that there had not to his knowledge been any wrecking for the last four or five years. Wrecking was not confined to the labouring class, but extended also to the farmers, who would not scruple to take possession of any articles which might be thrown ashore.
The schoolroom was open-roofed, rendered, and in good repair. It was part of a dwelling-house. The schoolmaster's mother lived in the other part. The proprietor of the parish is paid£3. l0s. per annum for the house. There was a garden belonging to it.
(In 1935 Angle - a report of county school inspections singled this school out as being the worst in the county as far as vulnerability to disease and epidemic because of primitive hygiene facilities.)
1894 January. Loch Sheil a ship with a cargo of whisky went down off Thorn Island, much was alleged to have been smuggled ashore by Angle residents.
According to Mason writing in 1905: "On the night of the 30th January, 1894, a large merchant ship named the "Loch Shiel" laden chiefly with cases of Scotch whisky for Australia, on making the Haven for shelter, ran aground on the rocks at the back of Thorn Island, practically the northern boundary of West Angle Bay. On this occasion Mr. Mirehouse, of Angle, and the crew of the lifeboat, did some brave work in rescuing the crew of the unfortunate ship, which ultimately became a total wreck. The cargo and wreckage floated about the harbour for weeks after, the Salvage of which did not all find its way to the Receiver of Wrecks.
Perhaps the following sidelights will demonstrate:-
Some Cottages not very far from the scene underwent rapid internal alterations smooth walls freshly papered where cupboards appeared before.
On an occasion of a villager's marriage at Dale, which took place shortly after the wreck, a yacht laden with a visiting party from Pembroke Dock, fired a salute from two cannon on board. Which, by the way, disturbed all the crows in the surrounding woods - not a few - which, if not very musical, added fresh interest to the event of the happy couple and procession returning from the church. The visitors from the yacht were duly invited to partake of supper on shore, and on sitting down to a well-provided table, each yachtsman faced a bottle of whisky - manufactured on the premises, no doubt. However, it tasted Scotch; and contributed to the making of much joy during the evening, finally rendering beds and blankets superfluous articles to the yachting guests that night.
1904 Col. B. W. B. Mirehouse was local landlord. Angle Estate had belonged to the Mirehouse family since John Mirehouse, a Cambridge agricultural student came from Cumberland to farm at Brownslade. He was a schoolfellow and friend of Byron. Brownslade is now part of the Castlemartin tank range.
Back to A Back to Gazetteer